Community Notices

Top WHS male athletes honored in annual ceremony

Codey Clewell won the Louis Japinga Award Tuesday night at the Wayland High School awards assembly and Jacob Omness was presented with the Senior Athlete Award.

The Japinga Award is the oldest in Wayland High School history, with the first presented to Don Japinga in 1962.

Both were three-sport athletes. Clewell competed in football, swimming and track. Omness participated in golf, football and basketball.

On the female side of athletics, Taryn Coughlin won the Multer Award and Leigha Morse won the Senior Athlete Award.

More than $2 million in scholarships were awarded Tuesday evening at the Fine Arts Center, as the Class of 2017 held its Senior Award Night.

Students were given individual awards from community partners, high school department awards, and college awards. Jon Seymour was the recipient for the coveted Citizenship Award.

Ninety percent of the graduating class have post-secondary plans: 60% attending university, 24% attending two-year college, 3%  attending technical school, 3%  joining military and 10% joining work force.

Leave a Comment