Julie Phillips wins annual Katheryn Brenner teaching award

Julie Phillips, seventh grade teacher at Wayland Middle School, was chosen as the 2017 Katheryn Lorraine Brenner Award recipient for the 2016-17 academic year.

She was presented with the honor Tuesday at the Wayland Union Schools’ staff end of the year celebration on the last day of school with an all staff cookout and award ceremony.

Staff members were recognized for 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25 years of service and those who are retiring.

The Brenner Award honors an outstanding teacher who has committed the extra time and effort to benefit kids in the classroom and/or in extracurricular activities within Wayland Union Schools.

Former Supt. Bob Brenner, who served at Wayland Union for 23 years, and his wife Sandy, established the annual award after the death in 1993 of their daughter, Kathryn, from cystic fibrosis. She graduated from Wayland High School that spring.

Previous winners of the award have been:

    • 2003 — Sharon Nelson, Middle School Physical Education.
    • 2004 — Kathie Johnson, High School Language Arts.
    • 2005 — Susan Boehm, Pine Street Elementary.
    • 2006 — Jan Laman, High School Choral Music.
    • 2007 — Chris Potter, Middle School.
    • 2008 — Robin Seniura, Dorr Elementary.
    • 2009 — Judy Mutschler, Steeby Elementary.
    • 2010 — Suzanne Jurkowski, Pine Street Elementary.
    • 2011 — Karen Nofsinger, High School Orchestra.
    • 2012 — Linda Anderson, High School Math.
    • 2013 — Lori Howell, Steeby Elementary.
    • 2014 — Don Mackey, Wayland High School English.
    • 2015 — Aleisa Licari. Dorr Elementary.
    • 2016 — Laura Foster, Wayland Middle School.


Leave a Comment