Community Notices

Wayland schools seek 2018 Hall of Fame nominees

The Wayland Union school district is seeking nominees for this year’s Hall of Fame accolades.

Candidates for consideration should be sent with the nominee’s name and qualifications to Wayland High School Principal Tom Cutler, 870 E. Superior Street, Wayland, MI 49348 or email to Deadline for submitting nominations is at noon, March 9.

Nomination Criteria:

·  Nominees must be a graduate of Wayland Union High School

·  Individual must have made an important contribution to Wayland Union Schools, the Wayland Union Schools Community, or society in general

·  Posthumous induction is possible

·  Students of Wayland Union High School may be considered for induction ten years after graduation

The Alumni Hall of Fame Ceremony will take place at 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, April 17, in the Wayland Union Fine Arts Center as part of the Scholastic Honors Night celebration.

The Hall of Fame’s first inductee in 2001 was longtime high school math teacher Claude Smith. Fire Chief Joe Miller was honored in 2002, teacher-coach Daryl Fleser in 2003, former school board president Dorothy DeWeerd in 2004, former State Senator Frederic Hilbert in 2005, teacher Fran Beuschel in 2006, former Superintendent Tom Tarnutzer in 2007, teacher Clayton Jackson in 2008, teacher Ethel Aubil in 2009, United Bank President Art Johnson in 2010, business teacher Julia Smith in 2011, former Fire Chief Hugh DeWeerd and former Mayor Mike DeWeerd in 2012, the late Pat Coughlin in 2013, Teresa Permoda in 2014, Roger Merren and Norm Fifelski in 2015, Roger VanVolkingburg and Cheri Ritz in 2016, and Embriette Hyde and Mary Jane Merren in 2017.

Leave a Comment