Hall of Fame nominations for WHS inductees sought

Wayland Union Schools is seeking nominations for inductees into the 2021 Alumni Hall of Fame.

Nominate a candidate for consideration by sending the nominee’s name and qualifications to Wayland High School Principal Tom Cutler, 870 E. Superior St., Wayland, MI 49348 or e-mail to


Deadline for submitting nominations is noon, March 5.

Nomination Criteria:

• Nominees must be a graduate of Wayland Union High School

• Individual must have made an important contribution to Wayland Union Schools, the Wayland Union Schools Community, or society in general

• Posthumous induction is possible

• Students of Wayland Union High School may be considered for induction ten years after graduation

The Hall of Fame’s first inductee in 2001 was longtime high school math teacher Claude Smith. Fire Chief Joe Miller was honored in 2002, teacher-coach Daryl Fleser in 2003, former school board president Dorothy DeWeerd in 2004, former State Senator Frederic Hilbert in 2005, teacher Fran Beuschel in 2006, former Superintendent Tom Tarnutzer in 2007, teacher Clayton Jackson in 2008, teacher Ethel Aubil in 2009, United Bank President Art Johnson in 2010, business teacher Julia Smith in 2011, former Fire Chief Hugh DeWeerd and former Mayor Mike DeWeerd in 2012, the late Pat Coughlin in 2013, Teresa Permoda in 2014, Roger Merren and Norm Fifelski in 2015, Roger VanVolkingburg and Cheri Ritz in 2016, Embriette Hyde and Mary Jane Merren in 2017, Dick Miller and Beatrice Smith in 2018, and the late Jackie Straub and Frank and Marilyn Bastian in 2019.



Leave a Comment