Two teachers win 2020 and 2021 Kathy Brenner awards

Katheryn L. Brenner

Wayland Union Schools teachers Ace Hulbert and Katrina Brown have been named 2020 and 2021 recipients, respectively, of the Katheryn Lorraine Brenner Outstanding Teacher Award.

Hulbert is a teacher at Wayland Union High School and Brown is a first grade teacher at Baker Elementary.

Bob Brenner, previous superintendent at Wayland Union for 23 years, and his wife, Sandy, established this award to honor an outstanding teacher who has committed the extra time and effort to benefit children in the classroom and/or in extracurricular activities within the district.  This was in honor of their daughter, Katheryn, who died of cystic fibrosis in October 1993, less than six months after she graduated from WHS.

The specific criteria include:

  1. The teacher must have at least five years of teaching experience in Wayland Union Schools.
  2. The teacher could be an elementary, middle or high school teacher.
  3. The teacher must be one who is committed to teaching as evidenced by showing a strong knowledge of curriculum, their field of expertise, and research.
  4. The teacher must believe that all students can learn.

Former Supt. Robert and Sandy Brenner

Previous Brenner Award Recipients:

  • 2003 — Sharon Nelson, Middle School
  • 2004 — Kathie Johnson, High School
  • 2005 — Susan Boehm, Pine Street Elementary
  • 2006 — Jan Laman, High School
  • 2007 — Chris Potter, Middle School
  • 2008 — Robin Seniura, Dorr Elementary
  • 2009 — Judy Mutschler, Steeby Elementary
  • 2010 — Suzanne Jurkowski, Pine Street Elementary
  • 2011 — Karen Nofsinger, High School
  • 2012 — Linda Anderson, High School
  • 2013 — Lori Howell, Steeby Elementary
  • 2014 — Don Mackey, High School
  • 2015 — Aleisa Licari, Dorr Elementary
  • 2016 — Laura Foster, Pine Street Elementary
  • 2017 — Julie Phillips, Middle School
  • 2018 — Chris Rupke, Baker Elementary
  • 2019 — Michelle DeYoung-Foster, Middle School.

COVER PHOTO: Ace Hulbert and Katrina Brown are presented with the Katheryn L. Brenner Award for outstanding teaching by Supt. Dr. Christina Hinds.

Leave a Comment