Eight WHS debaters finish among top 35 in the state

The Wayland High School debate team registered record successes at the Michigan Interscholastic Forensics Association State Debate Tournament Saturday. All eight members of the WHS team in attendance ranked among the top 35 debaters in the state 

The tourney included had more than 300 students from across the state competing in various styles of debate. Wayland qualified eight students to attend the tournament; all members of the team competed in the Congressional Debate category. Students competed in two preliminary sessions of debate and broke to the final supersession. 

Students competed virtually from the Wayland High School Media Center. The tournament was divided into two divisions — Novice (first-year competitors) and Varsity (two and/or plus years).

Among Novice debaters: Alecia Alonzo finished 32nd, Dulce Galindo 26th place, Ian Clevenger 23rd and Adaline Huston 19th. Breaking into the final round was Andrew Bastein-Burke, who took 15th place.

All Varsity debaters finished in the top 20.  Rylie Steuer (Captain) took 20th; Summer Morrison (Captain) advanced to the state finals and placed 10th, Carissa Yerxa proudly took seventh.

The Wayland Union debate team also took home the coveted “Best Bill Award,” which is voted on by the coaches and goes to the team that submitted the most debatable and well-written piece of legislation.

Coach Andrea Brown said she is extremely proud of her team and is looking forward to next year’s season.

Pictured (from left, back row)–Captain Summer Morrison (11th), Andrew Bastien-Burke (12th), Ian Clevenger (12th), Alecia Schumaker-Alonzo (9th), front row Carrisa Yerxa (11th), Captain Rylie Steuer (12th), Adaline Huston (9th) and Dulce Galindo (9th). 

Leave a Comment