Many seats open for non-partisan November votes

There is a huge number of candidates for the November general election for local non-partisan positions on school boards and Wayland City Council.

Four two-year seats will be open for election on the City Council, including Mayor Tim Bala and Trustees Abe Garcia, Norm Taylor and Tracy Bivins. Bala has been mayor since 2008. Garcia and Taylor were elected for the first time two years ago and Bivins was appointed to fill the vacancy left by the death of Gary Smith.

All but one Board of Education seat will be for four-year terms.

Wayland schools office holders whose terms expire in December are Treasurer Toni Ordway, Janel Timmerman-Hott, Vice President Pete Zondervan and Cinammon Mellema. Mellema was appointed last winter to succeed Jason Shane, who left the district for a new job in Pennsylvania, so if he is returned to officer her term will be for two years.

Martin has a whopping six candidates up for election. They include President Art Shook, Vice President Vince Tuinstra, Secretary Rodney Pillars, Treasurer Melanie Conley and Trustees Julie Pallett and Tina Keeler. The only board member whose term does not expire at the end of this year is Austin Marsman.

Hopkins School Board members whose terms are expiring are President Traci Rhoades, Vice President Karen Ryan, Trustee John Van Bonn and Trustee Jeff Gilder.

The deadline for filing is the last week in July. For more information, get in touch with Allegan County Clerk Bob Genetski.


Leave a Comment