Contests will be featured in all area non-partisan races

The non-partisan school board and city council elections in this area Nov. 8 promise to be interesting.

The deadline for non-partisan election candidates to file for the general election was at 4 p.m. Tuesday, July 26, with the Allegan County Clerk’s office.

The following is a rundown of who voters will see on their ballots in the Nov. 8 contests.

Wayland Union Board of Education

Incumbent Pete Zondervan, now serving as board treasurer, will seek another four-year term. He was first elected as a write-in during the November 2018 vote.

Cinnamon Mellema
Janelle Hott

Former Supt. Norman Taylor, who was appointed to the board seat left vacant by the resignation of Toni Ordway, also will seek a four-year term. Three other candidates are School Bond Committee President Jeff Koon, Jake Gless and Michael B. Warren.

The five candidates in all will battle for three open seats.

Janelle Hott, who was elected to a four-year term as a write-in four years ago, has chosen this time to seek the two-year post now held by Vice President Cinnamon Mellema, who was appointed last January to succeed Jason Shane. Shane still had more than two years left on his term before he moved to Pennsylvania. Mellema is running for the right to complete the partial term.

Hopkins Public Board of Education

There are two open seats on the board, both for four years.

Traci Rhodes and Stephanie Wilson are the incumbents and former Wayland industrial arts teacher Tom Grieg and Roger Holtz are the newcomer challengers.

Martin Board of Education

Nine people have entered the race for Martin Board of Education, with seven individuals seeking five open four year terms and two individuals seeking one partial two year term.

Three incumbents have filed to run for full terms. Secretary Rodney Pillars will be seeking his second full term on the board. Trustee Julie Pallet and Vice President Vincent Tuinstra will also seek to be re-elected.

Newcomers seeking full terms include Martin residents Alice Kelsey, Jeff Brinkhuis, Jason Dykstra and Teri Beilby. Both Kelsey and Dykstra currently serve on the Martin Village Council.

The two-year partial term contest will be between incumbent  Melanie Conley and Zach Bailey, a 2022 Martin graduate who also served as the Student Board Representative.

Six seats in total are up for election this fall. Trustee Austin Marsman is the lone board member not up for election, though he is running for Allegan County Commissioner.

Jennifer Antel is unopposed in her quest to become Wayland’s first female mayor.

Wayland City Council

Four candidates are seeking three seats on the Wayland City Council, including incumbents Abe Garcia, Joe Kramer and Norman Taylor, and newcomer Grace Sefranek.

The only candidate for mayor, succeeding the retiring Tim Bala, is Mayor Pro Tem Jennifer Antel.

Leave a Comment