Community Notices

Wayland High School seeks Alumni Hall of Fame nominations


Wayland Union SchooExtended Wildcatls is seeking nominations for the inductee into the 2015 Alumni Hall of Fame.
Citizens may nominate a candidate for consideration by sending the nominee’s name and qualifications to Tom Cutler, Principal, Wayland Union High School, 870 E. Superior St., Wayland, MI 49348 or email to .
Deadline for submitting nominations is March 13, 2015.
Nomination criteria:
• The nominees must be a graduate of Wayland Union High School.
• Individual must have made an important contribution to Wayland Union Schools, the Wayland Union Schools Community, or society in general.
• Posthumous induction is possible.
• Students of Wayland Union High School may be considered for induction ten years after graduation.
The Alumni Hall of Fame Ceremony will take place at 7 p.m. Wednesday, April 15, in the Wayland Union Fine Arts Center as part of the Scholastic Honors Night celebration.

The award in the past was presented between girls’ and boys’ basketball games or at halftime in February. However, at the urging of Alumni Board members Dorothy DeWeerd, herself a recipient, and Diane Smith, the ceremony was moved to April to be part of the annual Scholastic Honors Night. They maintained that basketball fans aren’t particularly interested in the alumni award and it is better suited to an academic honors ceremony.

Past award recipients have been Pat Coughlin, Claude Smith, Fred Hilbert, Joe Miller, Darryl Fleser, Clayton Jackson, Fran Beuschel, Hugh DeWeerd, Mike DeWeerd, Dorothy DeWeerd, Tom Tarnutzer, Ethel Aubil, Arthur C. Johnson and Tom Tarnutzer.


Leave a Comment